Guiding Lines


Teach me your way, O Lord, and I will walk in your truth; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.  I will praise you, O Lord my God, with all my heart; I will glorify your name forever.  For great is your love toward me; you have delivered me from the depths of the grave.       Psalm 86:  11-13

 A bureaucrat is the most despicable of men, though he is needed as vultures are needed, but one hardly admires vultures whom bureaucrats so strangely resemble. I have yet to meet a bureaucrat who was not petty, dull, almost witless, crafty or stupid, an oppressor or a thief, a holder of little authority in which he delights, as a boy delights in possessing a vicious dog. Who can trust such creatures?   Marcus Tullius Cicero

God seems to have fastened me on the city, some such one who arousing and persuading and reproaching each one of you I do not stop the whole day.   Socrates

 “I feel more and more that our job is simply to stick to the basics of what this profession is about,” Amanpour said in June. “It’s about reporting without fear nor favor. It’s about recognizing the serious in this world and going out and telling the stories, giving a voice to those who don’t have a voice, and just simply trying to tell the truth.”

God has given each of us words to live by.  He has given each the working tools he needs.

Neither shy from the disagreeable nor yearn for the pleasant.  Just do.                     Bhagavad Gita

                                       God uses whom God chooses.

Mistakes multiply and get repeated; sometimes they get corrected and sometimes they get compounded.  And so it goes.  For centuries.                       Bart D. Ehrman, Misquoting Jesus

Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.            St. Paul

Creativity

is allowing yourself to make mistakes.

Art

is knowing which ones to keep.

So many dreams at first seem impossible. And then they seem improbable. And then when we summon the will, they soon become inevitable.          Christopher Reeve

 The Twist was a guided missile, launched from the ghetto into the very heart of suburbia. The Twist succeeded, as politics, religion, and law could never do, in writing in the heart and soul what the Supreme Court could only write on the books.        Eldridge Cleaver

Do what you should when you are lost: Stop.  Don’t take another step until you have regained your position.

For every failure, there’s an alternative course of action. You just have to find it. When you come to a roadblock, take a detour.    Mary Kay Ash

I long to accomplish a great and noble task, but it is my chief duty to accomplish small tasks as if they were great and noble.              Helen Keller

About annecwoodlen

I am a tenth generation American, descended from a family that has been working a farm that was deeded to us by William Penn. The country has changed around us but we have held true. I stand in my grandmother’s kitchen, look down the valley to her brother’s farm and see my great-great-great-great-great-grandmother Hannah standing on the porch. She is holding the baby, surrounded by four other children, and saying goodbye to her husband and oldest son who are going off to fight in the Revolutionary War. The war is twenty miles away and her husband will die fighting. We are not the Daughters of the American Revolution; we were its mothers. My father, Milton C. Woodlen, got his doctorate from Temple University in the 1940’s when—in his words—“a doctorate still meant something.” He became an education professor at West Chester State Teachers College, where my mother, Elizabeth Hope Copeland, had graduated. My mother raised four girls and one boy, of which I am the middle child. My parents are deceased and my siblings are estranged. My fiancé, Robert H. Dobrow, was a fighter pilot in the Marine Corps. In 1974, his plane crashed, his parachute did not open, and we buried him in a cemetery on Long Island. I could say a great deal about him, or nothing; there is no middle ground. I have loved other men; Bob was my soul mate. The single greatest determinate of who I am and what my life has been is that I inherited my father’s gene for bipolar disorder, type II. Associated with all bipolar disorders is executive dysfunction, a learning disability that interferes with the ability to sort and organize. Despite an I.Q. of 139, I failed twelve subjects and got expelled from high school and prep school. I attended Syracuse University and Onondaga Community College and got an associate’s degree after twenty-five years. I am nothing if not tenacious. Gifted with intelligence, constrained by disability, and compromised by depression, my employment was limited to entry level jobs. Being female in the 1960’s meant that I did office work—billing at the university library, calling out telegrams at Western Union, and filing papers at a law firm. During one decade, I worked at about a hundred different places as a temporary secretary. I worked for hospitals, banks, manufacturers and others, including the county government. I quit the District Attorney’s Office to manage a gas station; it was more honest work. After Bob’s death, I started taking antidepressants. Following doctor’s orders, I took them every day for twenty-six years. During that time, I attempted%2
This entry was posted in God, Government Services, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Values and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guiding Lines

  1. Alveo says:

    You certainly deserve a round of applause for your post and more specifically, your blog in general. Very high quality material.

Leave a Reply

