The Venomous Dr. Lockwood (Part II)


Third, I do not have hypothyroidism.  Previously, in Crouse Hospital, endocrinologist Dr. Mickey Lebowitz did one thyroid test that was low and so he recommended that it be repeated.  Dr. Lockwood, in his note, ordered that it be repeated; in face-to-face conversation with me, he refused to have it repeated.

Fourth, “At the strong urging and request of Crouse Hospital Administration . . .”  Crouse Hospital is co-owner of the Iroquois.  The Iroquois Nursing Home was built and paid for by Crouse Hospital and St. Joseph’s Hospital specifically to provide the hospitals with a place to send patients who were inappropriately lingering in acute-care beds.  It is explicitly the job of the Iroquois medical director to take patients from Crouse Hospital.  Why would he dispute it?

Fifth, my “condition”:

  1. Immune dysfunction, type unknown, manifesting as hypersensitivity to medications
  2. Chronic hyperglycemia with glucose above 350 for two years, causing cognitive loss, depression and irritability
  3. Diabetes mellitus, type II, untreatable (see #1)
  4. Nephrogenic diabetes insipidus, indwelling catheter, 24-hour urine 7 liters (untreatable, see #1)
  5. Chronic kidney disease, GFR 40 and below
  6. Severe unstable obstructive sleep apnea, auto BiPAP
  7. Pulmonary fibrosis, caused by antibiotic
  8. Left ventricular hypertrophy, caused by antidepressants
  9. Right branch bundle block, caused by antidepressants
  10. Etc., etc., etc.

If a nursing home cannot manage these conditions then who can?

Sixth, “Crouse . . . would accept her back . . .”  The Iroquois maintains that they have this in writing, however, they did not produce it upon request.  In fact, all involved parties—Crouse, Iroquois, my POA, and me—have different opinions about the interpretation of the oral comments made in a pre-admission meeting.

Seventh, “unable to manage”:  Lockwood made no attempt to manage my care.

Eighth, “. . . long term elderly residents who require a higher level of care.”  Lockwood says that is who they care for and that is precisely who I am.

Ninth, “. . . NOT a psychiatric care unit.”  I do not need and would not benefit from confinement in a psychiatric unit.

Tenth, “We do not have ready access nor have on the premises psychiatric services.”  Dr. Katherine Lewis is employed by Psychological HealthCare, Inc., which has arranged to provide continuous coverage by psychologists—Dr. Lewis or, in her absence, Dr. Ronald Fish—at Crouse Hospital and the Iroquois Nursing Home.  My team and I arranged to put qualified psychologists on the premises of the Iroquois.  Lockwood treated them as if they didn’t exist and made no attempt to reach out to them in the interests of my care and comfort.

Eleventh, “While I am an Internist I am not specifically trained to manage severe psychiatric conditions.”

  1. Lockwood is an internist who attends people with Alzheimer’s, dementia and senility, which should prepare him to treat a patient suffering symptoms from chronic hyperglycemia.
  2. I don’t have any “severe psychiatric condition.”  Lockwood would have realized that if he’d ever had a discussion with me, which he did not.
  3. Lockwood is specifically trained to manage ear infections and, apparently, not much else.

Twelfth, “Ms. Woodlen as you may understand has severe psychiatric behavioral problems.”  How are we to understand it when he has not documented a single instance?

Thirteenth, “You again can refer to her hospital chart for details.”  Hospital chart?  Why not nursing home progress notes?  Does Lockwood not know where he is working?  The Iroquois Progress Notes carry multiple references to me being cooperative and easy to get along with.  Lockwood, in his admission note, described me as “Very intelligent.  Very interesting.”  Do we think Lockwood may have cut and pasted from my hospital notes to his admission note?

Fourteenth, “she was verbally abusive”:  I was asking for medication to prevent these untoward outbursts; Lockwood would not provide it.

Fifteenth, “She is a pathological liar . . .”  Medicare/Medicaid have been billed for services Richard Lockwood has not been providing.

  1. Lockwood entered a lengthy admission note claiming, among other things, a physical examination and lab testing that he did not do.  That’s fraud.
  2. Staff comments indicate that this is a long-standing Lockwood behavior.
  3. I repeatedly asked to see him for medication but he did not come.  That’s negligence.
  4. I filed complaints with the DOH nursing home hotline and the NYS Attorney General’s Office, Health Care Bureau, which is investigating Medicaid fraud and possibly criminal nursing home abuse.
  5. Lockwood and the Iroquois administration illegally dumped me in the Crouse Hospital ER without discharge planning or notice.  That’s retaliation.
  6. I have been an activist for a dozen years.  When I file a government complaint, the first thing that happens is that I am investigated.  Despite multiple investigations by investigators, detectives and lawyers, no charge of lying has ever been upheld against me.

Sixteenth, “she has no confidence in the care she was receiving . . .”:  the care I was receiving from the Iroquois aides, nurses, nurse managers, social workers, dietary staff, physical therapists, chaplains and activity people was above average.

Richard Lockwood, M.D,, is providing substandard, illegal and possibly criminal non-services at the Iroquois.  He, and any upper level Iroquois staff who knowingly supported him (starting with Nursing Supervisor Susan Greer) should immediately be removed from service.

About annecwoodlen

I am a tenth generation American, descended from a family that has been working a farm that was deeded to us by William Penn. The country has changed around us but we have held true. I stand in my grandmother’s kitchen, look down the valley to her brother’s farm and see my great-great-great-great-great-grandmother Hannah standing on the porch. She is holding the baby, surrounded by four other children, and saying goodbye to her husband and oldest son who are going off to fight in the Revolutionary War. The war is twenty miles away and her husband will die fighting. We are not the Daughters of the American Revolution; we were its mothers. My father, Milton C. Woodlen, got his doctorate from Temple University in the 1940’s when—in his words—“a doctorate still meant something.” He became an education professor at West Chester State Teachers College, where my mother, Elizabeth Hope Copeland, had graduated. My mother raised four girls and one boy, of which I am the middle child. My parents are deceased and my siblings are estranged. My fiancé, Robert H. Dobrow, was a fighter pilot in the Marine Corps. In 1974, his plane crashed, his parachute did not open, and we buried him in a cemetery on Long Island. I could say a great deal about him, or nothing; there is no middle ground. I have loved other men; Bob was my soul mate. The single greatest determinate of who I am and what my life has been is that I inherited my father’s gene for bipolar disorder, type II. Associated with all bipolar disorders is executive dysfunction, a learning disability that interferes with the ability to sort and organize. Despite an I.Q. of 139, I failed twelve subjects and got expelled from high school and prep school. I attended Syracuse University and Onondaga Community College and got an associate’s degree after twenty-five years. I am nothing if not tenacious. Gifted with intelligence, constrained by disability, and compromised by depression, my employment was limited to entry level jobs. Being female in the 1960’s meant that I did office work—billing at the university library, calling out telegrams at Western Union, and filing papers at a law firm. During one decade, I worked at about a hundred different places as a temporary secretary. I worked for hospitals, banks, manufacturers and others, including the county government. I quit the District Attorney’s Office to manage a gas station; it was more honest work. After Bob’s death, I started taking antidepressants. Following doctor’s orders, I took them every day for twenty-six years. During that time, I attempted%2
This entry was posted in activism, Fraud, Medicaid, Medical care, Medicare, Mental Illness & Health, physician, Values and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Venomous Dr. Lockwood (Part II)

  1. Madam Nomad says:

    Amazing, you are amazing! I am going thru a similar kind of craziness trying to advocate for myself against bureaucratic and governmental functionaries on power trips.Reading your work gives me strength to keep pushing back and insisting that my needs are met. People with power in hierarchies fall into corruption – it’s so tempting to use your status to shit on people you judge as subhuman. This is what Lockwood has done to you. it is a form of violence to distort the truth to fit his laziness and misogyny.

    • annecwoodlen says:

      Thank you for your affirmation. Right now it means all the world to me. Lockwood apparently is engaging in criminal behavior and is trying to cast me as crazy so no one will believe me. The facts and the law will take him down.

      God gave power to the ancient kings of Israel so that they could serve the people, not have power over them. I think President Obama is doing an excellent job of trying to serve, not abuse his power.

      My best advice to you, in a nutshell:
      1. Know the law (rules, regulations)
      2. Document how the service does not meet the standards set by law.
      3. File complaints with whatever agencies have the authority to require that the standards be met.
      4. Never–never, never, never–give up.

Leave a Reply

