Freedom of Speech?


“Van Duyn Home and Hospital is a county-owned skilled nursing facility offering a range of inpatient programs tailored to meet an individual’s unique needs.” (Van Duyn web site)

A person called Crouse Hospital today and scheduled an appointment to screen me for placement at Van Duyn. When the screener did not show up, the Crouse representative called her back. The screener said, “Oh, you mean the woman who files complaints with DOH [Dept. of Health] and writes a blog? No, we won’t offer her a bed.”

For criticizing the government, I am being denied care in a government facility. How’s that for freedom of speech?

“I am out of the office due to the government shutdown and am not permitted to respond to work-related emails as long as the government is closed. When the government resumes operations, I will get back to you as quickly as possible.” David Knight, Attorney, U.S. Dept. of Justice

About annecwoodlen

I am a tenth generation American, descended from a family that has been working a farm that was deeded to us by William Penn. The country has changed around us but we have held true. I stand in my grandmother’s kitchen, look down the valley to her brother’s farm and see my great-great-great-great-great-grandmother Hannah standing on the porch. She is holding the baby, surrounded by four other children, and saying goodbye to her husband and oldest son who are going off to fight in the Revolutionary War. The war is twenty miles away and her husband will die fighting. We are not the Daughters of the American Revolution; we were its mothers. My father, Milton C. Woodlen, got his doctorate from Temple University in the 1940’s when—in his words—“a doctorate still meant something.” He became an education professor at West Chester State Teachers College, where my mother, Elizabeth Hope Copeland, had graduated. My mother raised four girls and one boy, of which I am the middle child. My parents are deceased and my siblings are estranged. My fiancé, Robert H. Dobrow, was a fighter pilot in the Marine Corps. In 1974, his plane crashed, his parachute did not open, and we buried him in a cemetery on Long Island. I could say a great deal about him, or nothing; there is no middle ground. I have loved other men; Bob was my soul mate. The single greatest determinate of who I am and what my life has been is that I inherited my father’s gene for bipolar disorder, type II. Associated with all bipolar disorders is executive dysfunction, a learning disability that interferes with the ability to sort and organize. Despite an I.Q. of 139, I failed twelve subjects and got expelled from high school and prep school. I attended Syracuse University and Onondaga Community College and got an associate’s degree after twenty-five years. I am nothing if not tenacious. Gifted with intelligence, constrained by disability, and compromised by depression, my employment was limited to entry level jobs. Being female in the 1960’s meant that I did office work—billing at the university library, calling out telegrams at Western Union, and filing papers at a law firm. During one decade, I worked at about a hundred different places as a temporary secretary. I worked for hospitals, banks, manufacturers and others, including the county government. I quit the District Attorney’s Office to manage a gas station; it was more honest work. After Bob’s death, I started taking antidepressants. Following doctor’s orders, I took them every day for twenty-six years. During that time, I attempted%2
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Freedom of Speech?

  1. Jack Joe says:

    sadly a lazy arse kinda guy who knows the problems of his place – they all have something, the issue is whether or not their issues are something that you can or can’t live with, especially since i have yet to see any health care facility not plaqued with one serious ‘flaw’.
    Could be rude heartless staff or patients being crammed in to get more money or old equipment – whatever. He’s yet to meet you but has heard OF you. – in a way that’s kind of a compliment. A blog that makes no sense or has no readers is hardly something to be concerned about.
    But i don’t think you have time for back-handed compliments – you need care and you need it now.

    such a clear example of well, screwed.
    sorry to hear it Anne.

  2. FED UP WITH CRAZY PEOPLE says:

    I can’t blame Van Duyn for not offering you a bed, that would be asking for trouble!!! This is a small community here in Syracuse, most of us healthcare workers know each other and most of us know who you are and we are spreading the word, ” Watch out for this crazy one!! She will get you fired just for crossing your eyes!!! ” My advice to you, MOVE OUT OF STATE!! You have alot of nerve writing about all those patients confidential medical information and posting it on this public blog and then COMPLAINING ABOUT YOUR HIPPA RIGHTS BEING VIOLATED!!

    • annecwoodlen says:

      I only get people fired when they fail to provide services at the level required by law, i.e., when they are not doing their job. I wouldn’t be surprised if you are one of them. You are so irrational that you can’t understand the difference, and spread rumors where the truth should be reported. The only people who have anything to fear from me are people who taking taxpayers’ money and not returning service. You do not know what you are talking about, yet talk at length. Where did I complain about my HIPAA (not HIPPA) rights being violated? In this post, it is my constitutional right to freedom of speech that is in question.

  3. bethany J says:

    you go, “fed up” I agree- well said

Leave a Reply

