Dear Reader


In September my blogs were viewed 11,229 times. Each of the 2,334 times people signed in, they read an average of more than five blogs. (At least, I assume you are all people; maybe some of you are digitally over-achieving four-legged animals, who am I to say? Do you REALLY know what your dog does while you’re at work?)

The views were 309 per day. I like to think of that as me walking into an auditorium at Syracuse University and giving a lecture. Of course, that could never happen. Because of a learning disability, I am not credentialed and S.U. wants people with academic credentialing, not people who actually know what they are talking about.

Most of you read me at work. There is a drop-off of readers over the weekend and then on Monday it peaks, unless Monday is a holiday then the peak is on Wednesday because you spend Tuesday actually doing your job. I am, somehow, someway, saying things that are relevant to your job—or else you’re really bored and nobody’s watching.

You are powerful and intelligent people; you are decision-makers. You are doctors, lawyers, CEOs, managers and the odd vice president (at least Bob is pretty odd). Occasionally a less intelligent person stumbles in here by mistake. I can tell they are less intelligent because they send me comments about how stupid, selfish and boring I am.

Janet Callahan, managing partner of Hancock Estabrook law firm is a regular reader, but she’s just using my blog to try to get stuff against me in her defense of Iroquois Nursing Home. I suppose she’s billing Iroquois for reading my blog, which is pretty cool. Earlier this year I was told that my blogs are circulating around some corners of the U.S. Dept. of Justice—particularly the Civil Rights corner—yay and hooray!

CNN reached out to me about doing a story based on a blog about the damage that psychiatrists do. Survivors of psychiatric treatment have passed around some of my blogs and are dedicated to championing me and providing protection.

Mostly you work in “the health professions,” which is a term that I believe to be misused. Health professions include your gym teacher, the managers of grocery stores, farmers, people who pray and guys who organize marathons. X-ray technicians, oncologists, Medicaid executives and nursing supervisors are working in medical care, not health care, and there’s a difference.

You search for me by name, not subject. I am particularly tickled by that. I like to think it means I’m a good writer and that no matter what I set my fingertips to typing, you’ll follow me. One of the early editors of “The New Yorker” maintained that a good writer can take any subject and make it interesting. To prove his point, he chose rubber bands and wrote an article about them.

St. Joseph’s Hospital, alone in all the world, has blocked my blog as a “malicious” web site, but that’s okay because I consider St. Joe’s, in its entirety, to be a pretty malicious site. A Crouse Hospital vice president wrote: “I am 100% fine w/ anything you write and post about our fine institution…good/bad/medium/shitty…does not matter to me. You are free to express as you wish (one of the more appealing aspects of being an American if you ask me!).

“If I see something that I feel is not accurate or just plain fricked up, then I may call it to your attention. But then again I may not.” [This quote is published without permission, but he knows where I live—in his hospital—and can deal with me as he sees fit.] Crouse’s V.P. is a graduate of S.U.’s Newhouse School; St. Joe’s corporate person who shut me down got her degree on-line (and I suspect that she went to parochial school).

Most of my readers are in the U.S., Canada, U.K., Australia and Sweden. Only 58 people have subscribed to my blogs, suggesting that I’m kind of an underground addiction. People are afraid to be known as Anne Woodlen groupies so you all just keep typing in my name every day instead of subscribing and leaving evidence that you’re a reader. My readers include a student in Canada, a retired vicar in Great Britain, and two sisters whose parent lives at the Iroquois.

I have posted 956 blogs. Imagine that. Since the average length is 1000 words, that’s a heck of a lot of words—actually, about eight books. Many people have told me that I should publish books. I’d really like to but I need somebody to help me sort, organize and market. If you know anybody, pass my name along.

The most-read blogs for September were—
1. One Small Soul-Death
2. Freedom of Speech?
3. A Little Touch of Reality
4. A Little Touch of Reality (Part III)
5. Trust, Respect and Values
“A Little Touch of Reality (Part II)” was 18th on the list. Honestly, people, sometimes I don’t understand you at all!

The highest rated for September were—
1. One Small Soul-Death
2. With God as Our Defense
3. The Winning Non-Lawyer
4. Truth, Respect and Values
5. Kevin and Cindy Cain
So what you read the most and what you think are the best are two different things? You’re out there reading stuff that isn’t the best? What is WRONG with you?

I’m sort of fine, thanks. My mom paid for the wheelchair repair yesterday; I got eight hours uninterrupted sleep last night for the first time in years (more about that later), and my glucose was only 299 this morning. I will keep writing; thank you for reading.

About annecwoodlen

I am a tenth generation American, descended from a family that has been working a farm that was deeded to us by William Penn. The country has changed around us but we have held true. I stand in my grandmother’s kitchen, look down the valley to her brother’s farm and see my great-great-great-great-great-grandmother Hannah standing on the porch. She is holding the baby, surrounded by four other children, and saying goodbye to her husband and oldest son who are going off to fight in the Revolutionary War. The war is twenty miles away and her husband will die fighting. We are not the Daughters of the American Revolution; we were its mothers. My father, Milton C. Woodlen, got his doctorate from Temple University in the 1940’s when—in his words—“a doctorate still meant something.” He became an education professor at West Chester State Teachers College, where my mother, Elizabeth Hope Copeland, had graduated. My mother raised four girls and one boy, of which I am the middle child. My parents are deceased and my siblings are estranged. My fiancé, Robert H. Dobrow, was a fighter pilot in the Marine Corps. In 1974, his plane crashed, his parachute did not open, and we buried him in a cemetery on Long Island. I could say a great deal about him, or nothing; there is no middle ground. I have loved other men; Bob was my soul mate. The single greatest determinate of who I am and what my life has been is that I inherited my father’s gene for bipolar disorder, type II. Associated with all bipolar disorders is executive dysfunction, a learning disability that interferes with the ability to sort and organize. Despite an I.Q. of 139, I failed twelve subjects and got expelled from high school and prep school. I attended Syracuse University and Onondaga Community College and got an associate’s degree after twenty-five years. I am nothing if not tenacious. Gifted with intelligence, constrained by disability, and compromised by depression, my employment was limited to entry level jobs. Being female in the 1960’s meant that I did office work—billing at the university library, calling out telegrams at Western Union, and filing papers at a law firm. During one decade, I worked at about a hundred different places as a temporary secretary. I worked for hospitals, banks, manufacturers and others, including the county government. I quit the District Attorney’s Office to manage a gas station; it was more honest work. After Bob’s death, I started taking antidepressants. Following doctor’s orders, I took them every day for twenty-six years. During that time, I attempted%2
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Dear Reader

  1. JackJack Joe says:

    People should Subscribe if possible, isn’t that the way people get Sponsorships for their website/Blogs?
    Or is it the actual Hit-Read Counter.
    People are getting heard – AND Paid for their writings.

    I hope that’s how Your Story will go.
    Am also VERY Glad to hear your Chair is not fixed.
    That was an important thing. So now are you no longer in ‘solitary’ with a brick view of outside help? I think b/c they have so much difficulty with being monitored – by you not being comatose and thus unable to speak or complain or call out for anything at all. Those are The Favorite patients of the: lazy, paranoid and the incompetent.
    I’m not saying the people are any one of those things – But I’ve seen it before and I’m so sorry you’ve been labeled ‘[trouble’ when all you wanted was to be treated fairly.

    Not everyone goes quietly into that ‘good night’.
    And not every one should! Instead you have chosen to Fight until there’s no more fighting to be done.. Errors mentioned, they can no longer walk about freely and do whatever or how little they please – please some eyes also have many readers.
    Although I DO wish readers Would place a RATE if nothing else, r
    To undo what appears to be the same one-star low=-rate someone (the same person? I do not know) leaves on your blog every time. So if more people who come here would Rate your blogs then the rating of one-negative one-starred rating wouldn’t mean so much if there were say 25 others… esp. considering you are writing while remaining in an unrestful for your hospital bed feeling better but still not 100% whatever that might mean.

    I wish you a peaceful night Anne.

    • annecwoodlen says:

      Dear Jack, thank you. This night has been very distressed, and I don’t know why. I used to fight for major causes that affected many people. Now I fight for less ice in the water. It’s all very mixed up and I don’t know what matters. In the end, is this what we all come to? Sometimes I–like everybody else–wish I would just shut up. Everything hurts–and then there you are, reaching out to me. Thank you for your continuing kindness.

  2. Andy says:

    Hi Anne. I’ve never commented on your blog before, although I’ve been reading it for about two years or so now. I stumbled across it by accident one night when I was doing an online search for experiences people had at CPEP. At the time I was starting a new job and having some anxiety issues. I had made an appointment with a psychiatrist, but it was still a few weeks away. I made the mistake of going to CPEP that night figuring that they could help me get a jumpstart on my treatment. They lady that I spoke with on the phone made it sound like a great place to get some help. I only wish I had read your blog before I went. I’m sure it will come as no surprise when I tell you that I was way more anxious and traumatized when I left there several hours later than I was when I arrived.

    I don’t subscribe to it, but I have it bookmarked in my browser and I read your updates about once a week or so. I do enjoy reading your stories of activism and holding people accountable for doing their jobs. I don’t know many people who are as tenacious as you! But anyways, I just thought you might be interested to hear the story behind how I discovered you blog.

    • annecwoodlen says:

      I am, indeed, interested. I like to know people and hear their stories. I was not able to save you from CPEP, but I hope that there are others who stayed away from CPEP based on my writing. That’s what it’s all about: sharing my experiences so that others don’t have to repeat it. Thanks for writing.

  3. beth ames says:

    i thought your mother was dead.

    man u are so fucking full
    of urself.

    • annecwoodlen says:

      So why do you read me?

      • Debra Buell says:

        Anne, although Beth Ames words do not fall under “hate speech” (since, at this point she is not advocating that you be abused, she is simply being hateful), they are leaning in that direction. For the sake of the education of your readers, I will repeat what I posted to “Fed Up”.

        Dear “Fed Up”, I would like to advise you that, at this point, what you are doing here is not “Free Speech”, it is Hate Speech. Let me give you a few excerpts of the laws that apply to this situation:

        In law, hate speech is any speech, gesture or conduct, writing, or display which is forbidden because it may incite violence or prejudicial action against or by a protected individual or group, or because it disparages or intimidates a protected individual or group. The law may identify a protected individual or a protected group by certain characteristics. In some countries, a victim of hate speech may seek redress under civil law, criminal law, or both.

        Hate crime laws in the United States protect against hate crimes (also known as bias crimes) motivated by enmity or animus against a protected class. Although state laws vary, current statutes permit federal prosecution of hate crimes committed on the basis of a person’s protected characteristics of race, religion, ethnicity, nationality, gender, sexual orientation,gender identity, and disability. The U.S. Department of Justice(DOJ)/FBI, as well as campus security authorities, are required to collect and publish hate crime statistics.

        When you say that “she should be abused”, you are inciting violence. You would be well advised to cease and desist immediately.

        My advice to Anne would be to block you from commenting any further on her blog and to report your comments to the proper authorities. I would also advise her to take this action with any blog commentor who chooses to use hate speech rather to use civil discourse for a disagreement.

        No one has forced you to read or comment on this blog. This further demonstrates that your hate speech is voluntary and inflammatory.

        Debra Buell

    • FED UP WITH CRAZY PEOPLE!!!! says:

      SO true beth!!! LIAR LIAR PANTS ON FIRE!!! There in no credibility in what she writes….this is all fiction based on a few facts!!!

      • annecwoodlen says:

        Still reading me? Just so you can bitch?

      • Debra Buell says:

        Wouldn’t the operative word here be “facts” ? Fed up, you can go read anything you like, you don’t have to be here. It seems to me that Anne relates experiences, opinions about those experiences and the facts that go with them. If she misses a detail here and there, she’s human…..is that allowed in your world…Fed Up? Som how old are you? And, what here makes you so afraid that you have to post such venom?

    • Debra Buell says:

      The intelligence of this commentor needs to be called into question as well as her incredible lack of etiquette (look that up Beth Ames). Why, Beth, would you read anything that caused you such distress? Maybe you need a little “evaluation” to get some help with your problems. Or, you could write your own blog and then watch how long it takes for someone to be hateful towards you. With your mouth, I don’t think it would take too long.

  4. Madam Nomad says:

    Nice. Abusing disabled people. I sentence Fed Up to a week tied to a bed in a nursing home, lying in their own filth, listening to neglected and abandoned patients call out for deliverance in vain, all night, every night.

    • annecwoodlen says:

      W-e-l-l-l, I don’t think that’s necessary. She is spewing meanness and it will come back and bite her in the end. I appreciate your support but do hope it will take a different form in the future.

      • annecwoodlen says:

        BTW, I have acquired a commentor who identifies herself as “Anne Woodlen Hater.” Can you imagine combining someone else and hate as your own identity? Wow!

      • Madam Nomad says:

        I apologize. I am just learning about the troll phenomenon and I don’t want to inadvertently be one or to encourage them. I was deeply moved by your reportage of the abuses that you experienced and witnessed. I have been a caregiver to the elderly and disabled for my whole life and I guess I reacted badly to reading the abusive comment.

      • annecwoodlen says:

        “Troll phenomenon?” I’m sorry, I don’t know what that is.

        I am glad you have been a caregiver. I guess I am glad of your anger. It speaks well for the kind of care you must have provided. We only get angry when someone is being hurt.

    • FED UP WITH CRAZY PEOPLE!!!! says:

      She is far from being abused!! Are you blind to the fact that she is a big fat liar?? If she’s going to LIE ABOUT HER MOTHER BEING DEAD, how can you believe anything she writes?? She should receive the treatment you think I deserve because of all her lies!! She should know what real abuse is, instead of her pettiness and LIES!! ALL LIES!!!!

      • annecwoodlen says:

        My, my, my, how wrath you become and how little imagination you have: my mother left me a trust fund before her death.

      • Debra Buell says:

        Dear “Fed Up”, I would like to advise you that, at this point, what you are doing here is not “Free Speech”, it is Hate Speech. Let me give you a few excerpts of the laws that apply to this situation:

        In law, hate speech is any speech, gesture or conduct, writing, or display which is forbidden because it may incite violence or prejudicial action against or by a protected individual or group, or because it disparages or intimidates a protected individual or group. The law may identify a protected individual or a protected group by certain characteristics. In some countries, a victim of hate speech may seek redress under civil law, criminal law, or both.

        Hate crime laws in the United States protect against hate crimes (also known as bias crimes) motivated by enmity or animus against a protected class. Although state laws vary, current statutes permit federal prosecution of hate crimes committed on the basis of a person’s protected characteristics of race, religion, ethnicity, nationality, gender, sexual orientation,gender identity, and disability. The U.S. Department of Justice(DOJ)/FBI, as well as campus security authorities, are required to collect and publish hate crime statistics.

        When you say that “she should be abused”, you are inciting violence. You would be well advised to cease and desist immediately.

        My advice to Anne would be to block you from commenting any further on her blog and to report your comments to the proper authorities. I would also advise her to take this action with any blog commentor who chooses to use hate speech rather to use civil discourse for a disagreement.

        No one has forced you to read or comment on this blog. This further demonstrates that your hate speech is voluntary and inflammatory.

        Debra Buell

  5. JackJack Joe says:

    wow indeed.

    As for me.. My second name happens to be:
    “Fan and friend of the Crusader Anne Woodlen” yes, it’s a rather Long middle name. 🙂

    – Piss off all haters. By the way.. we/I can track your locations you know.
    You may think you’re hiding under new email addresses, cafe/coffee and Book shop computer places or general could-be-anyone places.
    But this is a New Dawning of Aquarius. (always wanted to use that in a sentence!)
    You’re electronic signatures are like greedy dirty little finger prints on every place you have been.. There is NO spewing ugly little words in the dark unnamed. Nope.
    Takes less than 3 minutes. And if Anne so desires your Name and information can be posted along side your filthy words and read by as she mentioned, 300+ readers per day?

    It’s a whole new world baby
    – too bad it’s filled with the same mean people..
    “hater of a sick woman who’s crime is to stand up for herself when she needs to, for getting o0ld and sick isn’t fun for anyone. And trust me you shall hear the following words again:
    Where were You when I was alone and sick.. when I was hungry and naked. When I was cold and suffering alone. sick and afraid.
    May you yourself find Peace and compassion and loose that Haters-Club Mentality… f
    For one day you will find yourself in the same position as Anne.. and if your hiding your strong voice behind fake-names NOW…
    I seriously doubt you’ll have any of the strength needed to stand up for yourself when no one else will do it for you. No, You are No Anne Woodlen!

    If you had Any of her Good Qualities…
    you would at the VERY, Absolute Least!…
    sign your own name instead of attempting to hide in the shadows like a cockroach.
    Well the light’s coming on and there is no where to hide, not on the internet – You should have never thought you could keep your hate under disguise. Be prepared for the reveal.
    Apologize to dear Anne. She has enough to deal with without you and your pal making it worse.

    • annecwoodlen says:

      Jack, if I understand–Urgent Care is basically a replacement for your doctor. In the old days, he would see you whenever you needed to be seen. Now, he kind of works 9:00-5:00 and lets Urgent Care cover from 6:00 a.m.-9:00 and 5:00-11:00 p.m. The Emergency Room (Department) is intended for trauma–broken legs, heart attacks, car crashes. Take the sniffles, sneezes and headaches to Urgent Care–they’ll ambulance you to the ER if it’s a stroke or critical infection. BTW, did you know that there actually are females who go to the ER for birth control pills?

      If you call 911 and ask for an ambulance then you will get an ambulance because 911 operators are not allowed to make judgments. If you call a taxi, then you will get a taxi–and a smart taxi driver will know when to refuse the ride and call an ambulance. I had a very pregnant lady in full labor show up in a taxi–she was calm but her husband was frantic.

      If you call Medicaid dispatch, that’s a whole ‘nother story. Wayne Freeman and Russ Maxwell, d/b/a Medical Answering Service, set themselves up as the guys who would decide if you needed a taxi or a wheelchair van. For an ambulance, you would have to have a doctor’s order. That was the simplest, most direct way to make sure the patient was served appropriately. In off-hours, you always got an ambulance because Medicaid was not paying the taxi and wheelchair vendors enough for them to keep a driver on all night when he might not be needed.

      Anybody who would rather die than be embarrassed has got a problem bigger than I can handle.

      You REALLY can track down these nameless-faceless bigot-idiots? WOW!!! Can you find the baddies who’ve been bad-mouthing me? Boy oh boy oh boy–would I love to post them on-line! Publically “out” them! I promise you, I will out everyone who maliciously attacks me. HOWEVER, I will not out anyone who uses “no name” or “anonymous” just to protect their privacy. If you want privacy then I will give it to you; if you want anonymity so you can be mean then I will out you every way I can.

      Jesus also said that if you ignore people when they are sick, in prison, or otherwise in need, then you will go to hell. I am glad, JackJack Joe, that you are not in the crowd.

Leave a Reply

