The Non-Medical Medical Program


This is a complaint against Central Park Rehabilitation & Nursing Center, Administrator Patrick Calli, and Patty Wilson, director of the Adult Day Care Program. Central Park is located at 116 Martin Luther King East, Syracuse, N.Y. 13205, telephone (315) 475-1641. It is owned by Upstate Services Group of Spring Valley, N.Y.

Director Patty Wilson wrongfully denied me admittance to the Adult Day Care Program and, when I attempted to file a complaint, Administrator Patrick Calli would not listen to me.

I applied for admittance to the Day Away Program. Only after the fact did I read the web site (http://www.centralparkrehab.com/day-away-program.13-0-13-.html) and discover that Central Park does not address itself to the patient; it addresses itself to the patient’s care giver. Apparently Central Park does not consider its patients to be sentient beings and worthy of being spoken to as independent and valid people.

On Monday, April 20, Director Patty Wilson came to my home for an appointment scheduled for 3:00 p.m. She arrived twenty minutes late and stayed for an hour and ten minutes. She almost immediately informed me that the nurse who should have accompanied her was not present because she, the nurse, had a doctor’s appointment that the director had not known about. I thought it odd that a director would not know when her subordinate would or would not be at work.

When the conversation reached a point where I spoke of my major illness, myalgic encephalomyelitis/ systemic exertion intolerance disease (ME/SEID) Ms Wilson interrupted me to say that she was a social worker, not a nurse, and had no medical training. Thus dissuaded, I made no further mention of my medical problems, which include:
1. MYALGIC ENCEPHALOMYELITIS (ME)/SYSTEMIC EXERTION INTOLERANCE DISEASE (SEID)–Electric wheelchair, electric hospital bed, home health aides
2. Intolerant of all long-term medications–Particularly, cannot take insulin, DDAVP, HCTZ or antidepressants; currently treating with homeopathics
3. Diabetes mellitus, type II –A1c 15 (normal below 7); glucose average 448 (normal below 120)
4. Nephrogenic diabetes insipidus—24-hour urine above 7 liters (normal is below 2); indwelling Foley catheter
5. Chronic kidney disease–GFR ranges from 58 to 32 (normal above 60)
6. Unstable severe obstructive sleep apnea–Auto BiPAP (re-sets with every breath)
7. Depression—Intermittent due to chronic hyperglycemia and chronic fatigue
8. Morbid obesity
9. Executive dysfunction learning disability
10. Fibromyalgia
11. Cataracts–1.5, with trifocals
12. Left ventricular hypertrophy
13. Right branch bundle block

At the end of the interview, Ms Wilson scheduled me for a visit to Central Park on Wednesday, April 29, that would include lunch and a 1:00 p.m. appointment for a medical history with the nurse.

On that day, Ms Wilson called to cancel my visit because she had a personal situation with which to deal. I was scheduled to visit for about two hours—lunch and a nursing interview. Why couldn’t that proceed without the director, who had already interviewed me extensively? What is Ms Wilson’s problem that her little program cannot continue without her presence? Ms Wilson stated that the Central Park day program is authorized for fifty patients, however only has twenty. Why is that?

Ms Wilson said she would call back the next day to reschedule my visit. She did not call back the next day or the day after.

On Monday, I tried to call her but was routed to her voice mail. I asked the receptionist who Ms Wilson’s supervisor was and was told it was Administrator Patrick Calli. I left a message for him, and got a return phone call from Ms Wilson in the afternoon.

Ms Wilson stated that she had “a long conversation” with the nurse and “they” decided I was not medically eligible for the program. A woman with no medical training refused to listen to my medical history, then had a long conversation with a subordinate nurse and “they” denied me admittance.

The nurse had no knowledge of my medical history, and the director had no understanding of it, yet they put their heads together and banned me from the program based on their perception of my lack of medical need.

On Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, I left messages for Administrator Calli, requesting a return call because I had been treated unfairly and wanted to file a complaint. Mr. Calli did not return any of my calls.

On Wednesday, May 6, my power of attorney, Dr. Stephen Wechsler, began to attempt to contact Mr. Calli. Mr. Calli returned two of Dr. Wechsler’s calls, however they played telephone tag and did not connect.

The administrator of Central Park made no attempt to listen to an elderly female patient-applicant’s complaint, but did return calls to the male doctor who was her power of attorney. Patrick Calli, again, made it clear that Central Park does not consider patients to be important. How many inpatients at Central Park are trying to voice their complaints and being ignored?

I would like a substantive investigation of the Central Park Adult Day Program. Why is it under-utilized? Why is Director Patty Wilson over-stepping her boundaries and making medical decisions without medical credentials? Why is Administrator Patrick Calli overlooking the problem?

Sincerely,
Anne C Woodlen

The above complaint was filed—
–With the NYS Dept. of Health, against Central Park.
–With the NYS Dept. of Health, against the license of Administrator Patrick Calli.
–With the NYS Dept. of Education, against Patty Wilson, who claims to be a social worker, which is not verifiable on-line.
–With Medicare/Medicaid.
–With Upstate Services Group, owner of Central Park.

About annecwoodlen

I am a tenth generation American, descended from a family that has been working a farm that was deeded to us by William Penn. The country has changed around us but we have held true. I stand in my grandmother’s kitchen, look down the valley to her brother’s farm and see my great-great-great-great-great-grandmother Hannah standing on the porch. She is holding the baby, surrounded by four other children, and saying goodbye to her husband and oldest son who are going off to fight in the Revolutionary War. The war is twenty miles away and her husband will die fighting. We are not the Daughters of the American Revolution; we were its mothers. My father, Milton C. Woodlen, got his doctorate from Temple University in the 1940’s when—in his words—“a doctorate still meant something.” He became an education professor at West Chester State Teachers College, where my mother, Elizabeth Hope Copeland, had graduated. My mother raised four girls and one boy, of which I am the middle child. My parents are deceased and my siblings are estranged. My fiancé, Robert H. Dobrow, was a fighter pilot in the Marine Corps. In 1974, his plane crashed, his parachute did not open, and we buried him in a cemetery on Long Island. I could say a great deal about him, or nothing; there is no middle ground. I have loved other men; Bob was my soul mate. The single greatest determinate of who I am and what my life has been is that I inherited my father’s gene for bipolar disorder, type II. Associated with all bipolar disorders is executive dysfunction, a learning disability that interferes with the ability to sort and organize. Despite an I.Q. of 139, I failed twelve subjects and got expelled from high school and prep school. I attended Syracuse University and Onondaga Community College and got an associate’s degree after twenty-five years. I am nothing if not tenacious. Gifted with intelligence, constrained by disability, and compromised by depression, my employment was limited to entry level jobs. Being female in the 1960’s meant that I did office work—billing at the university library, calling out telegrams at Western Union, and filing papers at a law firm. During one decade, I worked at about a hundred different places as a temporary secretary. I worked for hospitals, banks, manufacturers and others, including the county government. I quit the District Attorney’s Office to manage a gas station; it was more honest work. After Bob’s death, I started taking antidepressants. Following doctor’s orders, I took them every day for twenty-six years. During that time, I attempted%2
This entry was posted in American medical industry, Government Services, Medicaid, Medical care, Medicare, Nursing home, Poverty, Powerlessness, Values and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

